Executive Officers

Your 2018 - 2019 Executive Committee

Elected Officers

Executive Officer
Education Officer
Membership Officer
Public Relations
Administration Officer
RVCC Officer
Past Commander

Mission Statement of the CPS / ECP

To increase the awareness and knowledge of safe boating by educating and training members and the general public, by fostering fellowship among members, and establishing partnerships and alliances with organizations and agencies interested in boating.

Who CPS-ECP and the Squadron are

Canadian Power and Sail Squadrons is a non-profit organization that has been connecting boaters for 76 years and continues to play a major role in Canadian boating culture.

We are a nationwide organization of recreational boating enthusiasts with over 23,000 active members. Our instructors help recreational boaters improve their boating safety knowledge as well as their vessel handling and navigation skills. Students successfully completing the CPS-ECP Boating Basics or Boating Essentials course can receive a one year complimentary membership with access to member benefits.

Courses and seminars available from CPS-ECP: Boating Basics (Pleasure Craft Operator Card), Boating Essentials, Maritime Radio-ROC(M), Seamanship, Advanced Piloting, Electronic Navigation, RADAR for Pleasurecraft, Navigation, Global Navigation, Weather, Extended Cruising, Boat and Engine Maintenance and more.


Members of the organization are volunteers and receive no remuneration for their volunteer efforts. They are united by a common desire to see Canada's waterways as safe as possible, to enjoy the friendship of fellow boaters from coast-to-coast, and to further their knowledge of boating skills.

The organization is non-military, is not a lobby organization, and does not receive funding from government except for specific government-mandated programs.

The Newmarket Power & Sail Squadron Bridge 2017-2018

Commander: Stuart Denny
Executive: Bill Reynolds, JN
Secretary: Janet Heard, AP
Financial Officer: Barbara Dodds
Education Officer: David Puttock, AP
Public Relations Officer: Marilyn Ellison, JN
Membership Officer: Scott Gibson, JN
Administration Officer: Peter Heard, AP
Editor: Bill Reynolds, JN
Social Officer; Richard Bee, AP
Historian: Scott Gibson, JN
Webmaster: Alan Macdonald, AP
Officer at Large: Bill Forbes, AP
Officer at Large: Ian Ferguson, JN
Immediate Past Cdr: Bill Reynolds, JN